T20 World Cup 2022: Complete format guide | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: The eighth edition of the T20 World Cup is now near and the top 16 teams from around the world will once again battle for the glittering trophy that the hosts are in possession of. Australia.
The competition officially started on October 16 and there were a total of 45 matches held in 7 locations – Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney.
While the semi-finals will be played in Sydney Baseball Ground and Adelaide Oval, the final will be hosted by the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground on November 13.
16 TEAM:
Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Namibia, Scotland, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Ireland, UAE, Netherlands and Zimbabwe are officially participating in this year’s Down Under.
The format of the event will be group stage matches to determine the 4 qualifying teams in Round 1, next is Super 12s (of which 8 teams will be waiting for the 4 qualifiers) and then the knockout (semi-final and final).
Starting on October 16, Round 1 of the T20 World Cup will begin, with 8 teams competing for a spot in the Super 12 phase of the tournament.
Teams in Round 1 (Qualifier):
Group A – Namibia, Netherlands, Sri Lanka and United Arab Emirates
Group B – Ireland, Scotland, West Indies and Zimbabwe
The top two teams in both Groups A and B will advance to the Super 12 stage, where they will meet eight other teams that have already qualified.
The Super 12 Phase begins on October 22 and consists of 2 Groups, each of which will have 6 teams – the 4 that have qualified plus two teams each from Round 1.
Group 1 –Australia, England, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Group A Winner and Group Brunner-up
Group 2 – India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, Group B Winner and Group A Runner-up
Trans-Tasman rivals Australia and New Zealand will kick off the Super 12 stage on October 22 at the Sydney Cricket Ground while the high-octane clash – the one between India and Pakistan will take place at Melbourne Cricket Ground on October 23. .
Teams in both Group 1 and Group 2 will lock horns once with the remaining 5 teams in their group to try to finish in the top two places.
The top 4 teams (2 from each group) of the Super 12 stage will advance to the semi-finals.
The first semi-final will be played on 9 November in Sydney, while the second semi-final will be played on 10 November in Adelaide.
After a gap of two days, the final of ICC T20 World Cup 2022 will be held at the iconic MCG on November 13.


News7F: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button