Supreme Court Gets 5 New Judges. Chief Justice Administers Oath Of Office

Chief Justice of India DY Chandrachud was sworn in for five judges.

New Delhi:

Five justices appointed to the Supreme Court over the weekend, bringing the number of justices to 32 from the sanctioned 34, were sworn in on Monday. Chief Justice of India DY Chandrachud was sworn in for five judges.

The appointees were Judges Pankaj Mithal, Sanjay Karol, PV Sanjay Kumar, Ahsanuddin Amanullah and Manoj Misra.

All five names for the position of judge on the highest court were proposed by the six-member Supreme Court Council on December 13 last year. The Law Minister cleared the appointments on February 4.

Judges were sworn in as the college system became the main flashpoint between the Supreme Court and the center, with the magistrate’s appointing mechanism sparking a fierce debate that, unlike tradition, had witnessed the sharp comments of Law Minister Kiren Rijiju in recent times.

Mr Rijiju recently described the Collegium system as “foreign” to the Indian Constitution, while Vice President and Rajya Sabha President Jagdeep Dhankhar questioned the Supreme Court’s repeal of the Commission Act. The National Judicial Appointment Committee (NJAC) and the related Constitutional Amendment Act of 2015.

Through the NJAC law, the government sought to replace the Collegium system of appointing Supreme Court and Supreme Court justices with a new method.


News7F: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button