Setback for Naveen as BJD faces 1st bypoll loss since 2009 | India News

BJPOdisha’s victory in Odisha’s Dhamnagar seat marks the first time the BJD ally has lost since 2009 and is being seen as a setback for CM Naveen Patnaik ahead of next month’s Padampur vote and next year’s state election. 2024. While the party’s flag appears for the first time in Adampur after the Bishnoi cross, its victory in Gola Gokarannath ensures the saffron party holds all eight council seats in Lakhimpur Kheri district. In Telangana, it put up a close fight against TRS.
BJP’s Suryabanshi Suraj has retained the Dhamnagar seat held by his late father Bishnu Charan Sethi by reducing the BJD’s vote share further from 45% in 2019 to 43%.
“We have lost very few by-elections. I always respect the judgment of the people. MLA Bisnu Charan Sethi passed away recently and he is quite a popular leader. BJP has held this position for many years. His son was given the ticket. It was hoped that they would win,” said CM, who campaigned to lose candidate Abanti Das. ConferenceDhamnagar’s performance dropped to a low of 3,561 votes, placing it in fourth place in the competition.
Telangana’s Bypoll Munugode, which the BJP saw as a test case ahead of a larger battle for the state, offered a rant to Congress and an ancient showdown between the two main contenders that saw Kusukundla TRS’ Prabhakar Reddy withdrew from BJP Raj Gopal Reddy’s Komatireddy in the final round to win 10,309 votes. Congress has lost its deposit for the third time in five votes in Telangana since 2018.
Haryana saw the third generation of former CM Bhajan Lal fly the BJP flag for the first time in the Hisar district capital Adampur. Bhavya Bishnoi, 29-year-old grandson of Bhajan Lal, defeated Congress Jai Prakash With 15,740 votes, it was his family’s 16th victory in the constituency in just over five decades. The seat belonged to Parliament until Bhavya’s father Kuldeep Bishnoi switched to the BJP and resigned from the council. BJP currently has 41 MLAs in the 90-Member House.
BJP’s fourth win of six skipping competitions comes at Gola Gokarannath in UP’s Lakhimpur Kheri, a win it holds through 26-year-old political novice Aman Giri’s victory over Samajwadi Party Vinay Tiwari by more than 34,000 votes. Aman’s win rate exceeded that of his late father Arvind Giri in a council poll earlier this year. Tiwari blamed his defeat on “the BJP creating an environment of terror resulting in low voter turnout (57.4 percent)”. CM Yogi Adityanath tweeted a thank you to BJP voters and workers after the results. BJP currently holds all eight council seats in Lakhimpur Kheri district.


News7F: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button