Rajya Sabha chairman asks privilege panel to investigate ‘disorderly conduct’ of 12 opposition MPs | India News

NEW DELHI: President Rajya Sabha Jagdeep Dhankhar has asked a parliamentary committee to investigate the alleged violation of privileges by 12 MPs from Parliament and AAP for repeatedly entering the House of Commons well, shouting slogans and obstructing its proceedings.
According to a Rajya Sabha newsletter, nine of the MPs are from the National Assembly and three from the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).
Members of Parliament are Shaktisinh Gohil, Naranbhai J Rathwa, Syed Nasir Hussain, Kumar Ketkar, Imran Prattapgarhi, L Hanumanthaiah, Phulo Devi Netam, Jebi Mather Hisham and Ranjeet Ranjan.
AAP members are Sanjay Singh, Sushil Kumar Gupta and Sandeep Kumar Pathak.
Responding to the development, AAP MP Singh said, “We have not done anything that violates our privilege. We are just stating the facts and exposing a scam involving millions of ordinary people.”
“Once we get the notification, we’ll respond,” he told PTI.
In the February 18 newsletter, the Rajya Sabha Secretariat said, “…The Chairman… raised a question about an allegation of a violation of privilege arising from the serious disorderly conduct of the party. (MPs)…violating the rules and etiquette of the Rajya Sabha by repeatedly entering the council’s well, shouting slogans and repeatedly and intentionally obstructing the proceedings of the assembly, forcing The Chairman must repeatedly adjourn the sessions of the Council.”
Rajya Sabha sees repeated disruptions due to protests by Opposition MPs on various issues in the first leg of the Budget Session that ended earlier this month.
In a separate statement, the Rajya Sabha Secretariat said, “…members were informed that the Chairman, Rajya Sabha had raised a question regarding an alleged breach of privilege arising from non-compliance. instructions of the Chairman repeatedly submitting identical notices in accordance with rule 267 of Shri Sanjay Singh, Member, Rajya Sabha, under rule 203 of the Code of Business Procedure and Conduct at the Council of Nations (Rajya Sabha) to the Privilege Commission for examination, investigation and reporting.”


News7F: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button