Names Missing From List For Civic Polls, Voters Tell NDTV

New Delhi:

Voting in the elections for the reunified Delhi Municipal Corporation has proved an extravagant chase for many who have not found their names on the voter lists today. Others told NDTV they could not find polling stations assigned to them and accused mismanagement on part of the government. They said they were being guided from one polling station to another and it took hours in the process.

Many voters told NDTV that their names had been removed from the list of voters, although they still went to the polls regularly during the session and general election. One said his family of eight had been excluded.

Among those who could not find their name on the list was Delhi Parliament Speaker Anil Chaudhary.

“I have received calls from all over Delhi about the lack of names. Thousands of people have been removed from the voter list. BJP can’t win so they are trying to delay defeat. They also do the same by how to demarcate wards and are doing it right now by removing names from the list of voters,” he told NDTV.

BJP’s Manoj Tiwari announced that the names of 450 voters in the city’s Subhash Mohalla ward have been removed from the voter list because they support the BJP.

“In Subash Mohalla ward, the names of 450 voters have been removed from the list of voters because they support the BJP. This is a big conspiracy by the Delhi government. I will appeal this and appeal to cancel this vote. and re-election,” Mr Tiwari told reporters.

Elections for Delhi’s United Municipal Corporation are held today in which Delhi’s ruling Aam Aadmi Party is hoping to wrest power from the BJP, which is seeking a fourth consecutive term.

Although Arvind Kejriwal’s AAP won a record 67 out of 70 seats in the 2015 Congressional polls, the organization retained its civic authority two years later, by winning 181 out of 272 chair. The AAP is second with 48 and Congress is third with 30.

More than 1.45 million people are eligible to vote in the civic polls, of which 1,349 candidates are running.

Voting for 250 wards—starting at 8 a.m. — will end at 5:30 p.m. The counting of votes will be held on December 7.


News7F: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button