McLaren will join Formula E in 2023

Team news is starting to heat up ahead Formula E’s Gen3 Released next season, and today, one of the more highly anticipated announcements has been officially announced. Before the Berlin E-Prix, McLaren Racing announced it moves to Formula E for season nine, pledging to support a team as the series’ new specs make its first rounds of competition. Rumor Rumors began circulating last week that the company would be entering a line of all-electric racing products.

As reported, McLaren will acquire the Mercedes-EQ Formula E Team. Current team principal Ian James will remain in place to ensure “a smooth transition.” Mercedes-EQ is the current world champion team and driver Nyck de Vries won the individual title in 2021 to complete the double title season. McLaren Racing CEO Zak Brown explains that he is “delighted” to be offered a new home for the “top-class” Formula E team Mercedes has built. No word yet on the list of drivers, but de Vries’s steady friend Stoffel Vandoorne will switch to DS Penske next season.

“McLaren Racing is always looking to compete with the best and at the forefront of technology, providing our fans, partners and everyone with new ways to excite, entertain and inspire.” Brown said in a statement. “Formula E, like all of our racing series, meets all of those criteria.”

McLaren is certainly no stranger to the world of Formula racing. As the second oldest active team in F1, the constructor made its debut in 1966 in Monaco. It amassed eight constructors championships in the 70s, 80s and 90s with 12 individual racer championships. Its most recent title-winning season was in 2008 when Lewis Hamilton won his first championship (and did so in Pretty impressive fashion).

McLaren also has EV racing experience when competing in the Extreme E off-road range. The racing series is still in its infancy after its initial debut in 2021, however, like Formula E and Formula 1, Extreme E is also sanctioned by the FIA ​​(Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile). McLaren also introduced two cars on the IndyCar as the Arrow McLaren SP, a series of open-wheeled cars that it returned to in 2021 after a 40-year hiatus. The team is a joint effort between Arrow Electronics, McLaren Racing and Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.

McLaren joins Maserati as the major manufacturer entering Formula E next season. Maserati announced in January that it will join the series and in April, it partnership disclosure with ROKiT Venturi Racing based in Monaco. Nissan recently also full ownership of the e.dams team they’ve been working with since 2018. In their lead in this weekend’s Berlin E-Prix, the German team ABT Sportsline reveals plans to return to Formula E next season and Avalanche Andretti announced it will run Porsche’s powertrain starting in 2023.

All products recommended by Engadget are handpicked by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Source link


News7F: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button