Google keep updating the collaboration tools available in Working space with new features that make it easier for users to work with colleagues, especially in remote working situations. Google Docs is one of the important tools that regularly receive new features. Now, the tech giant has updated its blog post to announce a new edit notification feature for Google Docs, which will soon notify users whenever additions and deletions are made. made for their content. Google has also confirmed that these edit notices will be sent to users via email and will contain details on “what changes were made, when the changes were made, and who made them.” “.
Availability of Google Docs edit notifications
The tech giant has announced that the edit notification feature in Google Docs will be rolling out over the next month. Furthermore, the company has also confirmed that the feature will be made available to all Google Workspace customers, including legacy G Suite Basic and Business customers as well as users with personal Google Accounts.
Google Docs Editing Notifications: What You Need to Know
Google has officially mentioned that the edit notification feature is not enabled by default, and that users must enable the tool on a “document-by-document basis.” By activating it, the user will receive an alert to notify the user when others add or remove content from the document.
How to enable this feature
As mentioned earlier, the Google Docs edit notification feature should be enabled on a file-by-file basis, and users can also enable it directly in the document. The user will be allowed to tap the notification settings drop-down menu (bell icon) or will be able to access the menu from the Tools option at the top. This new page will allow users to enable/disable comments and will also provide options in Gmail control. However, users may need Dynamic email for that to work.
The Importance of Google Docs Edit Notifications
Google explained in its blog post that “updating relevant changes and commenting across multiple documents can be difficult.” The company also claims that the ability to specify which comments and changes users want to be notified of will help them stay up-to-date on the content they most need to pay attention to, and also track collaboration.