Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel Allots Portfolios To Team After Grand Oath Ceremony

Gujarat minister allocates portfolio to team after grand swearing ceremony

Gujarat Minister Bhupendra Patel chairs first cabinet meeting with newly sworn-in ministers


Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Leader Bhupendra Patel on Monday was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Gujarat for a second consecutive term at a star-studded ceremony in Gandhinagar accompanied by a 16-member Council of Ministers including a woman, and then appointed. portfolio for his team members, keeping house and revenue for himself.

Mr. Patel (60 years old) was sworn in as the 18th Minister by Governor Acharya Devvrat at a solemn ceremony attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Interior Minister Amit Shah, members of the Cabinet Unions and ministers of BJP-ruled countries at the Helipad Ground near the new Secretariat here, four days after the BJP came to power in the state on a historic mission.

Sixteen other ministers, eight of whom are at cabinet level – the new group of ministers with representatives from the Patidar, Koli, tribal and Dalit communities – were also sworn in after the BJP won a second term. seven in a row in Gujarat with a record win of 156 council seats in the 182-member House of Representatives. New entrants include 11 former ministers.

The Council of Ministers has only one female member – Bhanuben Babariya – who is elected from the Rajkot Rural Council seat (Schedule Castes). She has been ranked cabinet.

The other seven Cabinet ministers are Kanu Desai, Rushikesh Patel, Raghvji Patel, Balvantsinh Rajput, Kunvarji Bavaliya, Mulu Bera and Kuber Dindor.

Harsh Sanghavi and Jagdish Vishwakarma were sworn in as ministers of state (MoS) with independent responsibility. Sanghavi was the Interior Minister in the previous Bhupendra Patel government.

The other six ministers of the state are Parshottam Solanki, Bachu Khabad, Mukesh Patel, Praful Pansheriya, Kuverji Halpati and Bhikhusinh Parmar.

Of these 16 ministers, four are from the Koli community (Bavaliya, Khabad, Solnaki and Mukesh Patel), three are Patidars (Raghavji, Rishikesh and Praful), three are OBCs (Vishwakarma, Parmar and Bera) and two are from the ministry. clans (Halpati and Dindor).

Mr. Sanghavi is a Jain, Mr. Desai is a Brahmin, while Mr. Rajput belongs to the Kshatriya community.

Prime Minister Modi, who has tackled nearly three dozen campaigns across the state and is widely credited for the BJP’s stellar polling record, congratulated Minister Patel and his new team in a tweet. .

“Congratulations to Shri Bhupendrabhai Patel on his oath as CM of Gujarat. I would also like to congratulate all those who have been sworn in as Minister. This is a dynamic team that will take Gujarat to great heights. Newer heights of progress” the Prime Minister tweeted after the ceremony.

Hours after being sworn in in the afternoon, Secretary Patel chaired the first meeting of the new Cabinet at around 6:30pm and was followed by portfolio allocation to members of his team.

Cabinet Minister Kanubhai Desai was assigned the finance, energy and petrochemicals ministries, while the only female member of the Cabinet – Ms. Babariya – was allocated portfolios on social justice and empowerment. , women and child development.

According to an official statement, the minister kept portfolios of housing, general administration, revenue, disaster management, urban development and urban housing, pilgrimage development, panchayat, science and technology, roads and construction, Narmada, ports and information and broadcasting.

Another cabinet minister, Rushikesh Patel, has been given portfolios in health, higher and technical education, law and parliament and legislation, while Raghavji Patel will take charge of the agriculture departments, fisheries, rural housing and rural development.

Balwantsinh Rajput has been allocated industries, labor and employment, MSME (Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises), handicraft and civil aviation as cabinet minister.

Cabinet member Kunvarji Bavaliya was given water resources and water and food and civil supply departments.

While Mulubhai Bera is assigned to the ministries of tourism, cultural activities, forestry and environment as Cabinet minister, his colleague Kuber Dindor will be in charge of tribal development as well as portfolios. primary and secondary education.

Harsh Sanghavi has been assigned portfolios of housing, police housing, industrial and cultural activities as Minister of Foreign Affairs (MoS). He will also be in charge of sports and youth services, NRG department (Non-Resident Gujarat), prisons, border security and transport portfolio as MoS with independent responsibility.

MoS Jagdish Vishwakarma has been independently assigned to the cooperation, salt industry and protocol departments. He will also handle MSME, cottage industries, khadi and craft villages and civil aviation as a grassroots minister.

Parshottam Solanki has been appointed Minister of Fisheries and Livestock, while Bachubhai Khabad has been appointed as MoS for panchayat and agriculture ministries.

Mukesh Patel will take charge of the forest and environment, climate change, water resources and water supply departments as a junior minister.

Praful Pansheriya has been put in charge of parliamentary and legislative affairs as well as the education portfolio as a grassroots minister.

While Bhikhusinh Parmar has been appointed minister in charge of food and civil supply as well as social justice and empowerment, his colleague Kunvarji Halpati will handle tribal development, labor and employment. and rural development as a MoS.

Of the 11 former ministers inducted into Bhupendra Patel’s new team, seven were in the government he led from September 2021 to December 2022. They are Sanghavi, Vishwakarma, Kanubhai Desai, Rushikesh Patel, Raghavji Patel, Kuber Dindor and Mukesh Patel.

Four others – Solanki, Bera, Khabad and Bavaliya – served as ministers in previous BJP governments.

Key ruling party MLAs such as Alpesh Thakor, Hardik Patel and Rivaba Jadeja – who are expecting a seat on the Council of Ministers – have been omitted but can hope to get a portfolio in the opening cabinet expansion in the future.

Former BJP minister and senior leader Vijay Rupani said, “The cabinet will be expanded later. This is how it is done when a new government is born and more ministers are added during the expansion.” As a rule, Gujarat, which has an 182-member Parliament, can have a maximum of 27 ministries. Chief Minister, equivalent to 15% of the total number of members of the National Assembly, it currently has a 17-member Council of Ministers, including the CM.

Top BJP leaders, including ministers of the Union and ministers of the ruling party’s states, attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Bhupendra Patel resigned as minister along with her entire cabinet on Friday to pave the way for the formation of a new government following the election results. Parliamentary votes are held on December 1 and 5, and the results are announced on December 8.

He was elected leader of the BJP legislative party on Saturday, after which he met with the governor and made a request to form the next government. Patel won the Ghatlodia Council seat in Ahmedabad by a record margin of 1.92 lakh votes.

(Except for the title, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is published from an aggregated feed.)

Featured video of the day

Video: Woman robbed with gun outside house in Ghaziabad


News7F: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button