Auto Express

Formula E 2023 results, Monaco E-Prix: Nick Cassidy, Envision Racing wins

Mahindra Racing failed to score any points in Monaco, with di Grassi 12th and Rowland retiring through injury.

Nick Cassidy rose from ninth on the leaderboard to win the Monaco E-Prix. The Envision Racing driver currently leads the championship, with rival Pascal Wehrlein finishing in 10th place.

Jaguar TCS Racing’s Mitch Evans put pressure on Cassidy in the final laps, but the Safety Car at the end of the race meant he had to finish second. Avalanche driver Andretti Jake Dennis completed the podium.

  1. Cassidy leads the championship, 20 points ahead of Wehrlein
  2. Evans, Dennis on the podium
  3. Envision Racing won the championship from Porsche

Cassidy fends off Evans

their continuation Berlin E-Prix In form, Jaguar-powered cars continue to show strong speed in Monaco. Cassidy’s early runs proved crucial and by Round 7, he was in the lead.

Initially, Evans was told to avoid passing Cassidy, but he was given the green light to proceed in Round 21. He was already within touching distance when the Safety Car was brought out with only three laps left, fixed. Cassidy’s victory.

Dennis has also made great strides, climbing from 11th place on the leaderboard to take the final spot on the podium. He was followed by Sacha Fenestraz of Nissan and Jake Hughes of McLaren in fourth and fifth places. Fenestraz won pole on the track, but a penalty after half-time sent him down to second, giving Hughes the pole.

Wehrlein, Porsche dethroned

Monaco E-Prix sees first change in Formula E title lead in 2023 since Diriyah round in January. The longtime champion Wehrlein could only score a single point; that was also inherited after Sam Bird was awarded a penalty for knocking out Nico Mueller.

Wehrlein is currently 20 points behind Cassidy in terms of championship, while Porsche also drops to second place in the team standings behind Envision Racing. “We had hoped for better things in Monaco and we are disappointed that we were not able to showcase the true potential of our car. Now we have to focus on our strengths and get back to the form we’ve shown so often this year,” Wehrlein said.

Mahindra’s Rowland retires due to injury

Monaco proved to be another tough race for Mahindra and the Indian team left the round without scoring a single point. Lucas di Grassi moved up from 20th to 12th.

Oliver Rowland won six spots from the start, only because all those hard efforts weren’t completed when he contacted Edoardo Mortara at Nouvelle Chicane. He was forced to retire after injuring his left hand; however, Mahindra later confirmed that “the X-ray showed no broken bones, just a little bruising and swelling”. So he will obviously race in the next round in Jakarta on June 3-4.

Monaco E-Prix Result 2023

Monaco E-Prix Result 2023
posture Driver Team
first Nick Cassidy Visualize the race
2 Mitch Evans Racing Jaguar TCS
3 Jake Dennis Andretti’s avalanche
4 Sacha Fenestraz NISSAN
5 Jake Hughes McLaren
6 Dan Ticktum Nio 333
7 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Penske
8 Sebastien Buemi Visualize the race
9 Stoffel Vandoorne DS Penske
ten Pascal Wehrlein porsche
11 Edoardo Mortara maserati
twelfth Lucas di Grassi Mahindra race
13 Robin Frijns Abt Cupra
14 Sergio Sette Camara Nio 333
15 Antonio Felix da Costa porsche
16 bird Racing Jaguar TCS
17 Rene Rast McLaren
18 Nato people NISSAN
NC Oliver Rowland Mahindra race
NC Max Guenther maserati
NC Nico Mueller Abt Cupra
NC Andre Lotterer Andretti’s avalanche

Also see:

Berlin Formula E: Jaguar 1-2, Cassidy close to the championship


News7F: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button