Country to know who will be 15th President of India on Thursday as counting begins at 11am | India News

NEW DELHI: India on Thursday will know who will succeed incumbent Ram Nath Kovind as the country’s 15th President, as votes are counted for presidential election starting at 11am at the National Assembly Building here.
Ruling NDA’s Droupadi Murmu and the opposite of Yashwant Sinha are pitted against each other in the run-up to the election, with votes stacked clearly in favor of Murmu, who, if elected, would be the first tribal woman to occupy the top constitutional seat in the country.
Kovind’s term will end on July 24, and the new president will be sworn in on July 25.
With ballot boxes from all states arriving at the Capitol, polling officials were ready to count the votes in room 63, the congressional meeting room, where the ballot boxes were guarded around the clock. night.
Rajya Sabha General Secretary PC Mody, who is the Head of Return to the poll, will oversee the counting of votes on Thursday, the results of which are likely to be announced tonight.
Mody will first summarize poll trends after all MPs’ votes have been counted, and then again after the 10 states’ votes in alphabetical order have been counted. count.
Sources said he would summarize again on poll trends after the 20 states’ votes have been counted, and finally release the results after the overall vote count.
All of the ballot boxes from the state assemblies reached the chambers of Congress on Tuesday night and have been locked there since. Ballot boxes have been delivered to the national capital as ‘His Ballot’ from all over the states.
The ‘Mr ballot box’ is located in the front row of the aircraft under the supervision of the Assistant Returning Officers (AROs) of the respective states.
On Monday, the Election Commission posted photos of sealed ballot boxes on flights with AROs.
According to the EC, each ballot box is issued with an electronic ticket called ‘Mr Ballot Box’.
Voting for the presidential election is held from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday at 31 locations including the Capitol and 30 centers in state legislative assemblies.
There are also reports of cross-voting in favor of Murmu in some states. No whips were issued to members of the presidential poll.
The MPs of both, Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, excluding nominated congressmen and all MLAs in the legislative assembly in all states act as electors in the presidential poll.
A total of 4,809 electors, including 776 MPs and 4,033 elected MLAs, are entitled to vote in the election, but MPs and MLAs are nominated, and Members of the Legislative Council are not.
More than 99% of voters voted in Monday’s poll, according to the Election Commission.
Eight MPs, including BJP MPs Sunny Deol and Sanjay Dhotre, were among those who voted.
Actor and politician Deol voted because he was abroad for medical treatment, while Dhotre voted because he was still in the ICU.
Two MPs from the BJP and Shiv Sena, and each from the BSP, Parliament, SP and AIMIM voted in Monday’s poll.
Kovind became President after voting 7,02,044 votes out of 10,69,358 votes, while his rival Meira Kumar got only 3,677,314 votes.

Source link


News7F: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button