BJP Slips In Madhya Pradesh Mayoral Polls, Retains Municipal Bodies

BJP Slips in Madhya Pradesh Mayoral Polls, Retains City Agencies

Madhya Pradesh Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan congratulates party workers


In 2014, BJP wiped out mayoral elections in Madhya Pradesh by scoring all 16 seats. This year, however, the state’s ruling BJP retained nine seats, losing five to the National Assembly, one to the Aam Aadmi Party or AAP and one to a rebel of the party that fought for independence from Katni.

The congress won the mayoral election in Lok Sabha constituency by Union Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar and BJP state chief VD Sharma, Morena’s home district.

This is the BJP’s worst performance in two decades in the Madhya Pradesh mayoral election. In 1999 and 2004, Congress won only two seats, and in the 2009 polls, Congress won three mayoral seats.

In an important political development, two new parties also joined – AAP by Singrauli’s victory and Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM.

In Burhanpur, an AIMIM mayoral candidate received more than 10,000 votes in her favor, leading to a narrow 388-vote defeat of Shanaz Ismail of Parliament against BJP’s Madhuri Patel.

The Congress won three of the 11 mayoral positions in the first phase compared to the BJP’s seven, but in the second phase, the Congress stripped Morena and Rewa from the BJP.


Kamal Nath State Assembly Chief of Staff said the result is an indication of what will happen in next year’s parliamentary elections.

The BJP won phase two of the mayoral polls in Ratlam and Dewas, while its rebel candidate Priti Suri, who ran for independence after she was denied a ticket to join the party, defeated the official candidate of the party Jyoti Dixit in Katni. Katni stands under BJP chief of state VD Sharma Lok Sabha Khajuraho constituency.

In Jabalpur, Rewa and Gwalior, where the mayor of the National Assembly was elected, and Katni, which elected the rebel BJP as mayor, and Singrauli, where the AAP candidate was elected mayor, the same number of voters were elected mayor. supported the BJP councilors in the majority of wards in the municipal corporations. .

The BJP scanned Nagar Palika polls in the sensitive commune town of Khargone, which was the site of a deadly riot in Ram Navami on April 10. The ruling party won 19 of Khargone’s 33 wards. Nagar Palika, followed by Congress in four wards, AIMIM in three wards and independence in seven wards.

With this, AIMIM gained victory in seven city wards in four cities and towns, including Jabalpur, Burhanpur, Khandwa and Khargone, besides playing an important role in the defeat of the Parliament to the BJP ruling. authority in Burhanpur.

Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan congratulated the workers attending the party. “Parliament won the mayoral polls in Gwalior, Jabalpur and Rewa; however, the BJP not only won a majority in municipal corporations in the same city, but would therefore have its own president. operating the procedures of the corporations themselves,” said Mr. Chouhan.

“In Katni, the mayor is an independent candidate that belongs only to the BJP, while in Singrauli the mayor is from the AAP, but our party has a majority in the consortium,” he said.

Kamal Nath State Assembly Chief of Staff said the result is an indication of what will happen in next year’s parliamentary elections.

BJP performed better in Nagar Palika and Nagar Parishad polls winning 65 out of 76 Nagar Palikas with 85% attack rate and 231 out of 255 Nagar Parishads with 90.58% success rate.

Source link


News7F: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button